Wednesday, March 21, 2012

SFXT? Tournament worthy game or scrub friendly?

So not sure what my feelings are on this game. I think it's kind of fun, but just the way it is seems like on some levels it's a very competitive game with a lot of aspects that I really like. But at the same time those elements also cater to the scrub.

Lets look at the footsies element to take for example. So normally in most games like CvS2, 3S and AE footsies were very important. You tried to punish bad buttons from your opponent and if you were on your game you could take a good chunk of someones life if you knew what you were doing..

In SFXT this element is there, a bad button can cost you somewhere between %30 and 60% of your life. Although this is dependent on team composition and somewhat on execution. The chain combos now make scoring that 30/40% punish much easier for your average player. When you face someone who knows what they are doing it's not just throwing out buttons hoping for a hit into a chain, it's a hit into a chain tag into a really damaging combo with a possibility of mixup on the wakeup.

But there is your difference between what I would call the scrub player and a more competent player. %30 damage vs %50 damage on a good tag.

So rather than guessing wrong 3 times, you only get 2 bad guesses. And lets face it even a broken clock is wright twice a day. Anyways, one other thing that I think kills this game is the stage length, lets be honest if you want to walk back blocking for most of the match you really can do that for quite a while before you are cornered, combined with a fast game clock it makes for some really irritating play.

I still have mixed feelings on the game right now, right now I'm playing Ryu/Lili. Ryu is very solid in the game with a great walk speed, good poking tools, cancelable sweep and solid damage. Easily hits 350 damage off a poke with one meter. Lili is a good up close pressure character with some solid frame traps, a number of overheads which can be linked into for big damage (300+) with no meter or close to 400 for one meter. I might consider Hwoarang due to his good overheads and pokes, we shall see.

I've been in the lab a lot with AE 2012 working on some stuff. I'll post more about it in the future. Take care people.

No comments:

Post a Comment