Sup people,
So I just got back from Winter Brawl 6 the other day. It was a great tournament except for a couple minor issues. My Xbox finally got back after being gone for a few weeks being fixed.
Unfortunately I went 0-2 in Street Fighter, and did not get to compete in Marvel. Both of these are related events.
There were a number of mistakes that went on with the running of brackets in the Marvel pool. Towards the end of the 1st day when all Marvel pools had been posted I noticed my name was not put into any bracket. So I pulled aside the TO and got my name on a list that was to be added to the brackets that were being run on the 2nd day. Myself and a number of other people were in this same position, so I figured it would be okay.
So come the 2nd day when I'm supposed to play both my pools in AE and Marvel it's getting toward my pool for AE and I haven't heard my name called yet for Marvel so I start to get worried. I go to check with the guys who are running the brackets......they completely forgot to put me in the bracket and the bracket is almost done at this point. So they throw me into loosers saying "I'll set it up so you have to loose twice in loosers to be out". So my first match is against someone from my local venue, who uses a gimmicky Haggar team. I loose badly. To top it off they never give me my second match.
For AE, I just played a Sakura player cold with no warmup which I realize is big mistake for me since it takes me a while to settle in to my play style. Not to mention he had three of his posse which were settled in directly behind my head yelling into my ear. I could tell this was definitely an online player in the way he played Sakura, no footsies and one of those people who just do things. I needed to focus more on my spacing and pay more attention to him.
My second AE match was against Dhalsim of all charcters, which I have no experience with as Ryu. After the first match I should have pulled out my pocket Gouken to deal with him but I didn't. Either way it was not a good showing for me.
Not having my xbox around to practice killed me, and not warming up adequately did not help at all.
That being said I played some good casuals and I felt more confident in my footsies and zoning, but with the circumstances I didn't get to show it. I will work harder in the future.
Also, I ended up winning a copy of KOFXIII which I had been planning to buy in the first place. Lucky me, I guess that sorta made up for the whole Marvel bracket thing. But I really like the game, I'm just looking for a point character now. I'm running X/Kula/K'.
You can't tell me K' is not stylish. Plus Kula normals are real nice. Anyways, I will be grabbing some more lessons from Air soon. Hopefully I'll start putting into practice things are my local tournaments. I think I'm going to make East Coast Throwdown before heading out to EVO in July. The Hotel is booked and I plan on entering AE, Marvel and now KOF.
Peace out people,
Feel free to add me on Xbl GT: Jbourne001 if you want to play some matches.
No comments:
Post a Comment